Sing Me To Sleep/ Lullaby

1 May

Sing me to sleep,
Sing me to sleep,
I’m tired, and I,
I want to go to bed,

Though I know that evenin’s empire,
Has returned into sand,
Vanished from my hand,
Left me blindly here to stand,
But still not sleeping,

So Take me on a trip
Upon your magic, swirlin’ ship
My senses have been stripped,
My hands can’t feel to grip
My toes too numb to step,
Wait only for my boot heels
To be wanderin’
I’m ready to go anywhere,
I’m ready for to fade
Into my own parade,
Cast your dancing spell my way
I promise, to go under it.

_______

Golden slumbers fill your eyes,
Smiles await you when you rise,
Sleep pretty darlin’, do not cry,
And I will sing a lullaby

_______

Down a hill
Of pine tree quills
To the bottom of a stream where thick moss grows,
Beside a stream
Under the rocks are snails,
And we can fill our pockets
And let the go one-by-one all day
In a brand new place

Down by the seaside
See the boats go sailin’
Can the people hear, oh
What the little fish are sayin’?

Out in the country
Hear the people singin’,
Singin’ ’bout their progress,
Knowin’ where they’re goin’,
Oooo -oooh -ooh,
Aaaa -aaah -aah

Sing loud for the sunshine,
Pray hard for the rain
And show your love for Lady Nature
And she will come back again
Oooo -oooh -ooh,
Aaaa -aaah -aah

Thank you for giving me pleasure,
Thank you for giving
Me pain,
Thank you for teaching me to treasure,
Thank you for giving me these lessons
I have gained

Now it’s time to sleep
And still so many things I want to say

And like a boat out on the ocean
I’m rocking you to sleep
The water’s dark and deep, inside this ancient heart
You’ll always be a part of me

Goodnight my angel, now it’s time to dream
And dream how wonderful your life will be
Someday your child may cry, and if you sing this lullaby
Then in your heart,
There will always be a part of me

Someday we’ll all be gone
But lullabies go on and on,
They never die
That’s how you and I
Will be

_______

Leave a Reply

