Human Creulty

5 Feb

“I saw a photograph: Cologne in ’27, and then a postcard after the bombs in ’45. Must’ve been a world of evil clowns that let it happen, but then I recognize, dear listener, that you were there and so was I…” -Port of Morrow/The Shins

Lately I have been thinking about the extent of human cruelty. I go to a Catholic school, so the subject gets rather interesting. You see, the Catholic faith (in case you don’t know) is founded on a belief in the love of God and the love of others. Yet, as I’ve learned the Catholic faith is often not followed by many who claim to be Catholics. It’s an awful problem, and reflects terribly upon those who are very honest, loving, Catholic people.

It’s a sad truth that religion can be used to judge others, yet it can. The whole reason I’m even bringing this up is because I recently started Sociology and we’re learning about the Catholic view of gay marriage in Theology. Oh, and it’s election year. I really just want to say this; be nicer to each other, people.

On a side note, I would like to put in a general apology to gay people everywhere from me. I sympathize with the cause of trying to gain rights. I don’t always think that it is gone about in the most reasonable way, but I sympathize. The apology is for this; sometimes (okay, usually) I get really waver-y back-and-forth about issues, and gay marriage is one of them. It’s not that I ever thought gay people were horrible and awful, but there was a time when I thought “okay, yes it IS a choice if you chose to act on it” or “why not just accept civil union?”. And true, I ultimately am for gay rights, including marriage. But I get like that with things.

I even get why you could be against it. When I line up all the arguments from the U.S. Bishops, my ultimate argument really comes down to “think what you want, I personally don’t believe that it’s the government’s place to support (or not support) a specific lifestyle if said lifestyle does not directly affect others, regardless of its impact on society” I think doing so causes more harm than good. And yet, that is a philosophy. I will stick to it, but it is still only a philosophy.

I could explain to them, and yet they don’t want to listen. That’s the problem, isn’t it? I mean watch the presidential debates. Actually, don’t even bother! They’ll argue about non-issues that neither of them would really deal with anyways. Then you can hear kids who have never gotten a job tell you that only lazy bums wouldn’t have one, and they don’t deserve crap from the government. They know! Oooh, they know! That’s what drives me crazy really crazy. They don’t want to understand. They just want to win. And yet… I want them to understand, and so I get DISCOURAGED. Per usual. And yet sometimes they do understand. It makes me happy.

“How can you even think that anyone is better than anybody else? None of the things the ‘better one’ is doing are even significant. I mean, just look at the SKY, for God’s sake”- My dad

“I don’t always want to say what I believe and have to argue. But sometimes I know I have to; when it comes to morality. Because I just don’t even want to think about how [people who the issues affect] would feel if I didn’t.” -Freddy

“A person’s a person, no matter how small. Doctor Seuss said that. It’s true. A person’s a person not matter how small. Or how drug addicted”- A person named Michelle, who drove me places and is wonderfully nice

Then I said that the sad part was that the people at our school would probably put it on a t-shirt and sell it for fifteen bucks. Everyone would buy one too.

“You’ll never change them”- Thom Yorke

P.S. Now you know what I mean by “rambley” and “incoherent”… enjoy! 

3 Responses to “Human Creulty”

  1. isabrown7 February 5, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    you vacillated between your views. hehe, vocab.
    ok, on a serious not, this is really well put. and youre making me feel guilty for not writing a really intense paper for theology.

  2. isabrown7 February 5, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    *note… acca-ward

Leave a Reply

