Getting Cast vs. Not Getting Cast

10 Dec

Tomorrow I have auditions for the winter show, which is The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged). It’s a great show, and I know this because I watched two separate performances of it on Youtube. Nonetheless, as always, I must soon begin my pre-casting ritual of convincing myself that I don’t care whether or not I get in. At all. It would be fun and all, but… well… you know. Before I start, here’s an honest list of what my life will be like if I don’t get cast, versus if I do.

If I don’t get cast: I will probably call my friend, and we will console each other, and then I will tell myself I will be okay. Also, I “didn’t want it that bad to begin with”, right? Right.

If I do get cast: I will likely jump up and down squealing and then spend the next few hours researching the show… and Shakespeare… and England…

If I don’t get cast: I will spend the next few months of my life doing track conditioning, and maybe homework, I guess.

If I do get cast: I will spend all my time at SC, and doing homework, I guess.

If I don’t get cast: I will over-think the casting, my audition choices, my decision to wear a uniform, and the way I did my hair.

If I do get cast: I will wonder if my audition even helped to get me in (but… doubtful…)

If I don’t get cast: The world will go on.

If I do get cast: The world will become a more wonderful place than in has been in a long time (ever?), and ‘being in a play’ will be added to the myriad of good things in my life, along with having supportive & stable friends, supportive & stable parents, and a comfortable school environment which I am now adjusted to (mostly).

If I don’t get cast: I won’t be able to concentrate on finals.

If I do get cast: I won’t be able to concentrate on finals.

2 Responses to “Getting Cast vs. Not Getting Cast”

  1. djmatticus December 18, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    Finals are mostly overrated anyway. Well, from what I remember of them, which isn’t much. Good luck on the audition (if it hasn’t already happened) or I hope you did well (if it has already happened) – whichever is appropriate.

    • notesonlifefrommyplasticturtlehankandi December 21, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

      Finals are TOTALLY overrated. Good to know that one day I may forget them. Supression, I imagine? Thank you very much for the wishes! Auditions were alright. I didn’t make the show (but like I said, life goes on). Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

