My 10 Favorite Poems

31 Oct

Before I just throw out all these little nuggets of beauty, let me preface with a few things. 1.) #4 is a song, although (I don’t know why) I don’t think of it that way. I like it as a song well enough, but actually prefer to just read it. 2.) There have been a lot of poems that I have loved over time, and (as I think is normal) what has made these my favorites is that I either connect them with people who are important to me, or I just read them at the perfectly right time. They are not really “better” than millions of other poems out there. That’s all. Read on.

10.) On the Strength of all Conviction and the Stamina of Love by Jennifer Michael Hecht

9.) Piano by. D.H. Lawrence

8.) anyone lived in a pretty how town by E.E. Cummings

7.) Anabelle Lee by Edgar Allan Poe

6.) Soybeans by Thomas Alan Orr

5.) Elvis Kissed Me by T.S. Kerrigan

4.) Mr Tambourine Man by Bob Dylan

3.) Goodbye, New York by Deborah Garrison

2.) The Orange by Wendy Cope

1.) Summer Storm by Diana Gioia

On a side note, I’m very proud of myself for learning how to make ~fancy links~

2 Responses to “My 10 Favorite Poems”

  1. kerrylynnbouman November 23, 2012 at 7:27 am #

    how did you manage to make those links? most impressed!!

Leave a Reply

