A Conversation With Myself 3 Years Ago

28 Oct

 My Eight Grade Self: Wow, your hair looks really good. How did you do that?

My Current Self: Well, I woke up at 6:00 this morning to curl it with a straightener. Speaking of hair, I see you’ve still got those weird layers. Trying to get rid of those, right? Okay, good. You might want to use a bit more conditioner too. And only on the ends of your hair, okay? It only looks bad ’cause your doing it wrong.

My Eight Grade Self: Oh… okay. How’s high school?

My Current Self: It’s… well, you know it’s okay. It’s fine. You’ll hate it, but it’s fine.

My Eight Grade Self: Are you still friends with all the same people?

My Current Self: Well… not really. No. Actually none of the same people. Except Jonathan. That’s it, actually.

My Eight Grade Self: Oh my god, that’s horrible!

My Current Self: No… it isn’t. My new friends are pretty cool.

My Eight Grade Self: Wow… that’s so weird! What are they like? Do they have really good taste in music?

My Current Self: Sometimes. Sometimes they care more about fashion and pop culture and studying. More importantly, though, they have their own interesting ideas and they care about me. You really need to let go of the whole “music makes you who you are” thing. It’s really stupid and not true, like everything that people say on political commercials.

My Eight Grade Self: That’s so shocking! I thought you were going to say that music was the only really great thing about middle-school. So then what about middle-school relationships? Are they actually important? Like, what will I think about them in high school?

My Current Self: Well I think the important thing is that you make sure the people you love know that you love them. No matter who they are. But you aren’t going to listen to me, because having someone tell you this is obviously not enough for you. Don’t worry, you’ll figure it out freshman year. Amongst other things.

My Eight Grade Self: Now I’m scared… is it really going to be that bad?

My Current Self: Yeah… sometimes. You’ll be okay though. I was. As far as I know. On a side note, you need to unfriend that one kid that you met at that dance on Facebook. He’ super creepy.

My Eight Grade Self: Mmm, yes. I was sensing that. Intuitively. Well, I should probably go before you tell me too much about my future and the current you is severely altered.

My Current Self: Bye past self! Have fun making all the horrible mistakes I made!

My Eight Grade Self: Thanks, but I’ll try not too…

My Current Self: *mumbles to self* Hahaha, no but you will though. C’est la vie!

4 Responses to “A Conversation With Myself 3 Years Ago”

  1. lifefullofjules October 28, 2012 at 1:35 am #

    There are so many things I would like to go back knowing what I know now. High school was 4 of the best years of my life. Whatever you do, do not take it for granted. It goes by so fast. The parties, dances, late nights, phone calls, drama, boys. everything. appreciate it.

    • notesonlifefrommyplasticturtlehankandi October 28, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

      I guess in every part of our lives we make mistakes that we later wish we could change. There are certainly things that I like about high school, but it has been very difficult in a lot of ways. Still, while it may not be the happiest time of my life, it definitely helps to remember that the things I learn (although they’re not always “fun” to learn) are helping me to grow as a person. I’ll do my best to appreciate all the good things that are here right now! On a side note, I don’t know how on earth you found this blog, but thanks for reading! Haha.

  2. You'll know October 28, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

    Fashion and pop culture… Wonder who that’s referring to?

Leave a comment